Excise Tax


On 17 August 2017, the Federal Decree-Law No. (7) of 2017 on Excise Tax (“UAE Excise Tax Law”) was published. The UAE Excise Tax Law came into effect on 1 October 2017 and is the foundation of the new Excise Tax system that the UAE is introducing based on the Common Excise Tax Framework signed by the six Gulf Co-operation Council (“GCC”) states. The UAE Excise Tax Law sets out the various rules and obligations for taxpayers.